top of page

Surviving a Snow Day in April


So if April showers bring May flowers, what does April snow bring?


The four "D"s


Dismay. Disappointment. Depression. Doom.

Yep.


After a long and brutal winter here in the Midwest, we have nearly combusted with an overabundance of cold, wet, snow and all that comes with it. Scraping windshields, shoveling the walk, de-icing door locks and sporting those worn out winter boots that we swear we'll replace every year but don't.


Is it really too much to expect to have bid adieu to the white stuff by now? It's April, for God's sake. Mother Nature, global warming, or whatever we have to thank for this phenomenon, seems to have a different idea of Spring than I have.


Time to adjust, so once I cursed my way out of the winter doldrums once again, I decided to make the most of it and come up with a list of things to fill my "indoor" day that would take my mind off the "outdoor" debacle and turn my frown upside down.


Yea. I went there.


So first off, food. I popped a 3lb pot roast and buttery potatoes into the oven with an extra cup of red wine. Okay, it may have been 2 extra cups. Who's counting? Did I mention? IT'S SNOWING IN APRIL!


Then I lit every candle in the house to ward off future snow spirits. My personal favorite is Sun and Sand by Yankee Candle. It smells just like Coppertone sun tan lotion and salty air.


Enough said.


Once that was done, I demanded Alexa play songs like "The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow..." and "Walking on Sunshine", followed by some Reggae. (Who doesn't think of a Caribbean beach when you hear a little Marley?)


It helped a little.


Then I went to my computer and looked at pictures like this....






After that, I pledged to stay away from all windows until dark.


More wine. Don't judge. Dinner's not ready for awhile...


Then I watched a movie.


What movie you ask?


"Summer Lovers"; An infamously bad film which can be forgiven by the fact that it was filmed entirely on the island of Santorini, Greece. The bad plot is just a mild deterrent from the fabulous scenery, so I indulged.


And just like that, off goes the timer and the roast is now done. Time to pour some more wine and enjoy some comfort food as I say good riddance to winter for what is hopefully, one last time.


When life gives you lemons, screw the lemonade. Draw the blinds, pour some wine, and use a little imagination. Surround yourself with the sights, sounds and smells of summer.


Then make the lemonade.


That's my two sense.

Until next time,


Jennifer


Leave me a comment and share what you do to survive snow in April.




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page