top of page

Justin Bieber vs Social Media Over April Fools Joke


Justin Bieber and Hailey Baldwin

Warning: This is a two-minute rant.


In fact, I've created a rather uncustomary category with this title as a place to house my catalog of opinions on things that fit the "You can't make this sh*t up" designation". You can choose to skip it, or continue on. But this is about to get ugly.


So Justin Bieber was crucified on Social Media yesterday for an April Fool's Day joke about wife Hailey Baldwin's "pregnancy". The 25-year-old megga-popper dropped three posts on his Instagram eluding to Hailey's pregnancy with the third post revealing it was all a joke.


What happened next? A tirade of epic proportions by offended onlookers who flocked to social media claiming Bieber's joke about Hailey's pregnancy was disrespectful to those who could not have children or who have lost children in the past.


Sorry folks, I'm just going to come out with it. I'm not sure who aggravates me more; the people who were upset about it or the media who reported it.


Are we really that sensitive? IT. WAS. A. JOKE.


I'm probably going to offend people just by writing that. I. DON'T. CARE.


This hyper-sensitivity is engulfing our lives and breeding controversy where there simply isn't any. Does anyone really believe that Bieber set out to take a pot shot at the unfortunate souls who are unable to conceive a child or worse, lost a child? C'mon.


But that does make better copy.


Fan or not. Doesn't matter. I'm not trying to defend anyone here. I'm actually on the attack. Yes, I'm offended by those who perpetrate these notions that what was once innocent and mainstream is now off limits and restrictive. What has happened to us that we are so offended by that which has been part of our fabric for so long without examining the context? We're offended by everything, which diminishes the things we really ought to be offended by, don't you think?


Loosen up people. Relax. An April Fool's joke? It's not that deep.


That's my two sense.

Until next time,


Jennifer


P.S. I'd love to hear your thoughts on this. Please leave a comment below. I'm always about creating dialogue and your feedback is welcome. I've said my peace. Now speak yours.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page